Skip to primary navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

About Us

Minnesota Transportation Museum (MTM) is located at the historic Jackson Street Roundhouse. This building was originally a steam engine maintenance facility for The Great Northern Railroad.

The Roundhouse was built in 1907 and was one of the last roundhouses built by the “Empire Builder,” James J. Hill. It replaced a smaller wooden engine-house of Saint Paul & Pacific. The Roundhouse was part of a large shop complex built in the 1880s.

Located near downtown Saint Paul just north and east of the State Capitol, the complex had been sold by Great Northern in 1960. The Roundhouse was then remodeled as a warehouse/industrial building. All the tracks were removed and an addition was built where the turntable used to be.

MTM took possession of the Roundhouse in 1986, acquiring a substantial mortgage. Jackson Street was restored as an operating roundhouse, but with several changes. It is MTM’s back shop, but it also houses exhibitions, archives, an audio-visual theater, a meeting room, and offices. The turntable was re-installed in 2001, and the connection with the Burlington Northern (BN) has been reinstalled, along with five yard tracks. BN has cleaned up environmental pollution, mostly petroleum in the groundwater. The large mortgage was paid off through the generous financial support of longtime director Arthur E. Pew III and others.

The Museum at Jackson Street Roundhouse opened in 1999. In March of that year, MTM hired its first paid Executive Director, and the administrative offices moved into a renovated space, shared with Great Northern and Northern Pacific Historical Societies. They and MTM are creating an archive with climate-controlled space and a combined cataloging system.

Board, Volunteers, & Staff

Board of Directors

Brian Voss

Christofer Sears
Chair Elect

Bob Puelston

Scott Johnson

Phil Wellman

Arthur III Pew

Andy Corchran

Dennis Danich

Chilton (Sandy) Hagan

Lane Littrell

Kurt Mahre

Noel Petit

Andrew Tighe

Deb Wood

Commitee Chairs

Brian Voss
Executive Committee Chair

Jon Van Niewaal
Finance, Fundraising and Grants Committee Chair

Phil Wellman
Personnel Committee Chair

Deb Wood
Public Relations & Marketing Committee Chair

Brian Voss
Museum, Membership & Volunteer Development Committee Chair

Phil Wellman
Collections Committee Chair

Bob Puelston
Education & Training Committee Chair

Phil Wellman
Equipment Committee Chair

Buildings & Grounds Committee Chair

Department Heads, Managers and Staff

Scott L. Hippert
Executive Director

Barb S.
Roundhouse Museum & Administrative Manager

Jon V.
Director of Operations – Jackson Street Roundhouse Strategic Manager

Phil W.
Locomotive Foreman

Andy I.
Maintenance of Way Foreman

Nick M.
Railroad Superintendent

Morten J.
Operational Training Manager

Ward G.
Educational Training & Safety Department Supervisor

Gordon B.
Blacksmith & Machine Shop Supervisor

Bill H.
Roundhouse Woodshop Supervisor & Security Manager

Larry C.
Purchasing Coordinator
Barb S., Tots & Trains Coordinator

Aaron N.
Repot Manager

Osceola & St. Croix Valley Depot Manager / Retail Coordinator​

Al H.
Osceola Mechanical Foreman

Osceola Brunch, Dinner & Wine Train Manager

Sandy H.
Osceola Pizza Train Manager